top of page
  • Writer's pictureBerkeley Adamowicz

Mr. McCarthy's Source

https://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2019/02/06/exploring-ways-to-say-so-long-to.html


"But in her physics class, there is no traditional A-F grading scale to worry about."

How is this possible? I am confused how one class can choose to not follow the rest. What would happen if the physics class in Sutton did this. Would this even be allowed?

"Jadyn will only see a reported grade twice during the year: a midyear progress report and the final grade on her report card, which is based on a month-long final project. In many ways, she said, that is freeing."

Key word SEE.

The amount of classmates I know that live on Ipass is insane.

A student once said, "I find myself checking ipass over the summer even though there are no grades"

I know another classmate though who never checks her grades, and feels less stressed out or constantly having the nerves.

What would happen if you were not allowed to check ipass everyday? What would happen if everyone just waited until they got the paper copy back like everyone used to do?


The most radical approach of all is ditching the grade book altogether—in favor of giving students detailed feedback on their performance throughout the year and working with students to jointly assign a final report card grade, when the school requires it. (It's a small but passionate movement: About 10,000 educators are in a Facebook group devoted to throwing out grades.)-----I could find this Facebook page and make it part of my final project since everything these days are based around social media.


Overall I am not sure if this would work... dropping grades? Any teacher hearing this first on would disagree.

This concludes my blog post, but more research is needed.



Mr. McCarthy sent me this link and it couldn't work better for this project.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page